Author Topic: Oil Filters for Motobricks  (Read 31709 times)

Offline 390beretta

• Motobrick Curious
Oil Filters for Motobricks
« on: November 25, 2011, 08:58:44 AM »
The gentleman from whom I bought my '88 K75 gave me three Bosch oil filters and three spark plugs.  A trusted mechanic and a knowledgeable friend told me to use OEM filters only.  Willing to go the cost for OEM, but would like opinions whether the OEM is really better.  Thanks

Offline kenray

• Motobrick Curious
Re: Bosch Oil Filter
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2011, 09:31:41 AM »
Hello, I am no expert but I use the Bosch filters in my 89 K100rs with no problems. The ones I buy come with a stick on label on the filter. I make sure to peel off the sticky label and wipe any residue off with WD40 before installing. I'm sure you will get other opinions from our fellow Brick riders. Kenray in Katy TX.
  • Katy Tx.  (West Houston area)
  • 1989 K100rs (se)
1989 k100rs

Offline DRxBMW

• ^ SuperNatural Motobricker
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2011, 05:36:10 PM »
Hello, I am no expert but I use the Bosch filters in my 89 K100rs with no problems. The ones I buy come with a stick on label on the filter. I make sure to peel off the sticky label and wipe any residue off with WD40 before installing. I'm sure you will get other opinions from our fellow Brick riders. Kenray in Katy TX.

AC Delco PF 53 oil filter, over 120 K,enough said.

NAPA Gold is another brand I've used on customer's bricks.

FWIW, you can go with 2 oil drains per filter.

"ride hard ____ life's short"

Gary
Williamsport,Pa

1994 K 75 ABS "custom"
2005 F 650 GS

Offline Chaos

• Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Mars needs women!
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2011, 07:40:10 PM »
Bosch is a perfectly fine filter.  I've been using Delco PF53 for the last 10 years or so, before that I used Fram until they started putting the grippy stuff on em.  180k so far. 
  • sw ohio
1987 K75S    VIN 0231
Original owner, Original litter