Author Topic: replacing wheel bearings  (Read 5683 times)

Offline Lawrence

• ^ Proficient Motobricker
replacing wheel bearings
« on: June 20, 2013, 11:00:48 AM »
The Haynes workshop manual suggests that, in order to change out the wheel bearings, the wheel should be heated to about 200 degrees f.  It further says the brake rotors should be removed to prevent their damage.  I'm wondering about that.  Would it really damage the rotors if the wheel where, for instance, placed on an electric hot plate to heat it?  And what about the actual extraction of the bearing?  Is this a challenging job requiring special skill and tools?  I've never done this job before, but I've read elsewhere that the bearings in some wheels simply drop out when the wheel is properly heated.
1985 K100RS

1982 Laverda Mirage 1200TS
1983 BMW R100RS

Offline mjydrafter

Re: replacing wheel bearings
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2013, 11:15:52 AM »
Heating and cooling is not needed, but it will make it easier.

I did not remove the discs or use heat when I changed out my bearings this spring.

Most challenging part is getting past the spacer between the bearings, but past that it's pretty simple.

Have you ever changed bearings in anything else?
1986 BMW K75c
1974 Suzuki TC-185 (the little 10 speed)

Offline Lawrence

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2013, 01:08:22 PM »
No, I've never changed bearings in anything that I recall.  That's why I thought it better to consult the forum. 
I'm puzzled by your comment re: getting past the spacer.  The wheel is off the bike now.  Looking at it, it would seem that I extract (one way or another) the bearing from one side, then flip the wheel over and do the same thing with the bearing on the other side.  Why is the spacer going to be a problem? Each bearing looks like it should be pulled out from its respective side of the wheel.
1985 K100RS

1983 BMW R100RS

Offline mjydrafter

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2013, 01:15:48 PM »