Author Topic: Need help with a gremlin…  (Read 470 times)

Offline Moo Meister

• Dr. Moo Meister, III
  • Curious
  • I'd rather be riding....
Need help with a gremlin…
« on: March 01, 2024, 09:24:01 PM »
Howdy folks! I need your help...

I have two bricks - a 95 low seat model and a 95RT. I bought the latter because the ergos of the former kill my fat old man knees! Anyhow, I have been chasing a possible fueling issue on the RT for three months and I am utterly stumped.

I purchased the bike in Oklahoma from the 3rd owner with 45k on the clock. The bike was running rough-ish when I picked her up, though I attributed that to the fact that the air cleaner had been replaced with an EXTREMELY oily and filthy K&N.

When I got her home, I ordered both the standard and supplemental service kits from Bob's BMW and got stuck in. All in all, nothing concerning emerged from the service aside from the too-tight exhaust valves (not catastrophically so), which I also took care of. Following the service, I warmed her up, balanced the throttle bodies, and set the idle.

Right away she ran ROUGH at idle and would bog down and stumble under any acceleration. Again, I got stuck in. I:
-   confirmed good flow from the fuel pump and new fuel filter
-   replaced all of the rubbers around the airbox and throttle body
-   cleaned the throttle body
-   replaced the injectors (the old ones were quite bad) and fuel lines
-   replaced the vacuum lines and vacuum caps
-   cleaned up the inside of the airbox and ensured the barn door on the air sensor moved freely
-   replaced the spark plug wires

After reassembly she ran much better… above 4k rpm. Currently, she starts fine most of the time with the throttle advance on, and she idles fine once she is warm, though the idle is inconsistent when cold. Also, I can’t get the TBs perfectly balanced at either idle or 4k. They are close, but not perfect.