Author Topic: Installing aftermarket Cluster  (Read 26318 times)

Offline rbm

  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2016, 02:48:17 PM »
Sorry cdrp, Hugoo asked for tach information.  Tachometer reads engine speed, not road speed.  Did he really mean speedometer sensor information?  Sorry I took the question to mean engine speed.
  • Regards, Robert
Toronto, Ontario

1987 K75 - Build Blog @http://k75retro.blogspot.ca/

Offline cdrp

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 38
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2016, 02:51:21 PM »
Sorry, you are right, I miss read the comment, I had no problem with the tach, you can use the signal from the moronic directly, just program the pulses per revolution on the tach to 1, this will do...
  • Monterrey Mexico
  • K1 1989, Kz 550 1981

Offline hugoo

  • Curious
  • Posts: 9
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #27 on: April 24, 2016, 04:34:37 PM »
Thx both of u! :yes

So now i am sure i read the rpms right 😀.(engine speed)
But now i am confused again about speed! I read on thus forum that for road speed, you had 6 pulse each rotation, but now you are saying 5? Just to be qure and correct as possible, should i use 5 or 6 pulses for roadspeed?
Thx
  • BE
  • K75 projekt, honda nx 250 projekt

Offline cdrp

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 38
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2016, 04:39:06 PM »
The best way is to compare the speed with a GPS, and modify the settings accordingly, more pulses o tire diameter....


Enviado desde mi iPhone utilizando Tapatalk
  • Monterrey Mexico
  • K1 1989, Kz 550 1981

Offline rbm

  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Posts: 2073
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #29 on: April 24, 2016, 04:51:42 PM »
It's 6 pulses per wheel revolution.  As cdrp says, program the Koso to use 6 as the multiplier and estimate the wheel circumference.  Then use a mobile phone based GPS program to fine tune the circumference number so that the Koso speed and GPS match.
  • Regards, Robert
Toronto, Ontario

1987 K75 - Build Blog @http://k75retro.blogspot.ca/

Offline hugoo

  • Curious
  • Posts: 9
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #30 on: April 25, 2016, 01:34:49 AM »
Thx! I ll compare the speed to my gps as soon as my tires are chanced!
Thx again for all the help I was nt expecting the koso to be working allready and i am really happy it is!
  • BE
  • K75 projekt, honda nx 250 projekt

Offline KJustin

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 20
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #31 on: May 10, 2016, 02:11:29 AM »
Sorry to resurrect an old thread...

I built the low pass filter in reply 2. It helps quite a bit, but I still have some jumpiness in my tacho, which is an Acewell.  I want to try the one in reply 4. My question is what capacitor do I use?  I'm not understanding the notation in the diagram. Thanks!
1985 K100RT converted to cafe racer

Offline Xjskins

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 41
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #32 on: May 10, 2016, 07:56:20 AM »
Although it was been a while, I believe it to be 33 nano farad.  The free program that I used to draw that was Texas Instruments TINA, and it is loaded on the other computer, will confirm for you later today.

Cheers

Rick
  • Eh?
  • 1x K1100

Offline KJustin

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 20
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #33 on: May 10, 2016, 11:03:44 PM »
Thanks Rick.  Please do confirm when you have a chance. 

Also, do you know it is possible/advisable/inadvisable to use a capacitor of slightly higher or lower value? If I recall what I saw at the store yesterday, I don't think that my local Radio Shack had a a 33 nano farad in stock, but I think they may have had something close (I think they had 22 and 47, but I could be misremembering).  If exactly 33 is crucial, then I can order one on-line and just be patient for a few days while delivery is pending.  TIA!
1985 K100RT converted to cafe racer

Offline KJustin

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 20
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #34 on: May 20, 2016, 12:19:10 AM »
Just thought I'd report my progress. Built and installed the circuit from reply 4 but with a 47 nano farad capacitor instead of a 33. Just fired and revved the bike in the garage (didn't have time for a full test ride) and the tach looked very steady and accurate. I'm going to call it a success. Will report back if there are problems upon a full test ride. But if I don't post, future readers can assume that this solution worked for me. Thanks all for the assistance. Best, Justin.
1985 K100RT converted to cafe racer

Offline Laitch

  • Redline 7000
  • Forum Moderator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Posts: 8512
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #35 on: May 20, 2016, 06:33:13 AM »
Just thought I'd report my progress.
Good followup, Justin!
  • Along the Ridley in Vermont.
  • 1995 K75 80,000 miles
I wept because I had no radials until I met a man who had no splines.
https://tinyurl.com/RillRider

Offline Deforj

  • Curious
  • Posts: 1
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #36 on: May 23, 2017, 10:50:51 PM »
sorry about reviving this old thread. Where exactly did you take your signal for the tach ?
Was it pin 19 from the ecu? Did you use the wire connected to pin 19 in the main harness ?

  • Montréal, Québec.
  • k100 naked

Offline KJustin

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 20
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2017, 11:47:50 PM »
I think I used pin 16 on the speedo plug-in, which is the black/blue wire. I'm not sure what pin that is on the ECU. But I bet someone else on here will know.


Unfortunately I'm currently separated from my bike and documentation, so I can't confirm. But I'm about 95% sure.
1985 K100RT converted to cafe racer

Offline Mr.Tom

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 10
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #38 on: June 15, 2017, 04:41:35 AM »
I think I used pin 16 on the speedo plug-in, which is the black/blue wire. I'm not sure what pin that is on the ECU. But I bet someone else on here will know.


Unfortunately I'm currently separated from my bike and documentation, so I can't confirm. But I'm about 95% sure.
I've been suffering from the jumpy tachometer for a few years now and found this thread, unfortunatly the schematics on reply 4 is gone, do you think you can explain the circuit?


//Tom
  • Sweden
  • K100 -84

Offline Laitch

  • Redline 7000
  • Forum Moderator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Posts: 8512
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #39 on: June 15, 2017, 06:16:18 AM »
I've been suffering from the jumpy tachometer for a few years now and found this thread, unfortunatly the schematics on reply 4 is gone, do you think you can explain the circuit?
This is the schematic to which you refer; it is visible in reply #4 so check your computer or phone settings.

* Hoskins Reply#4 schematic.jpg (14.14 kB . 512x172 - viewed 365 times)
  • Along the Ridley in Vermont.
  • 1995 K75 80,000 miles
I wept because I had no radials until I met a man who had no splines.
https://tinyurl.com/RillRider

Offline Mr.Tom

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 10
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #40 on: June 15, 2017, 06:54:04 AM »
This is the schematic to which you refer; it is visible in reply #4 so check your computer or phone settings.
Thanks, must have been looking at the post while not signed in!
  • Sweden
  • K100 -84

Offline Laitch

  • Redline 7000
  • Forum Moderator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Posts: 8512
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #41 on: June 15, 2017, 07:10:55 AM »
How about introducing yourself in the Welcome to Motobrick section and posting a few photos of your bike in different profiles, Mr.Tom?
  • Along the Ridley in Vermont.
  • 1995 K75 80,000 miles
I wept because I had no radials until I met a man who had no splines.
https://tinyurl.com/RillRider

Offline Mr.Tom

  • Motobrick Curious
  • Posts: 10
Re: Installing aftermarket Cluster
« Reply #42 on: June 15, 2017, 02:59:05 PM »
How about introducing yourself in the Welcome to Motobrick section and posting a few photos of your bike in different profiles, Mr.Tom?
Sounds like a good idea, I'll get on it this weekend  :2thumbup:
  • Sweden
  • K100 -84

Tags: