Author Topic: Hello from Northwest UK  (Read 1328 times)

Offline bitsa

• Motobrick Curious
Hello from Northwest UK
« on: May 04, 2023, 08:27:24 AM »
Hi all, first post just to introduce myself and my new toy/money-pit/nemesis/pal (will delete as appropriate when I know lol).

I'm new to Beemers (at least 2 wheel variety) but had & loved 80's shafties for years (Honda maggots, Yam XJ's and the like).  Been out of the saddle for about 10 years now but found what seemed to be a good deal on Ebay so took a punt and won what was described as a 1986 K75S in pieces, which had been turned into a cafe racer & latterly a scrambler before PO bought and dismantled with the intention of restoring.

On collection I'd describe it more as a rat/survival style, lots of flat black/rough sanded tank, hacked wiring and enduro tyres. Still, not terrible for £310 if the engine was good I could at least get my money back in parts. Anyway, first order of business was to loosely assemble it far enough to see if I had the basis of a decent running bike. Before the post gets too wordy, it's decent enough & deserving of some love to make it into a reliable (if still ratty) summer toy. Main issues currently are the L-Jet & the hackery perpetrated to make it run/idle somewhat with leaking intake boots.

Basically instead of popping the plenum and TB's off & cleaning/resealing the intake boots, someone in the past has well & truly mallealated the throttle bodies.  Initial settings are thus-:

Idle speed screw - completely missing, along with the stop plate

TB "Don't touch" screws - 1/2 nearly all the way in & 2/3 barely poking through, locknuts loose on both

Bypass screws- virtually falling out, barely hanging on the o-rings

TPS- all the way anticlockwise, acting as "idle stop"