Author Topic: Project Apokalypse  (Read 35909 times)

Offline furnimoto

• ^ Motobrick Curious
Project Apokalypse
« on: October 22, 2016, 04:35:55 AM »
Hello Brickers,

I thought I would start a thread on my project bike. I fully expect it to end up in the "Ugliest custom K you've ever seen?" thread at some point as it is not going to conform to traditional restoration or cafe racer standards. None the less, I am committed to and excited by this project. I am going to learn a lot and do many things that I have never done before. Preemptively, I have decided to answer a few of your questions:

The reason I wanted to ruin a perfectly good K1100 is because I am an idiot.

Yes, I realize that a K1100 is a terrible choice for a scrambler type project. The reason I chose this bike for this project is because I love the fact that it is shaft drive, has a single sided swingarm, and it has a bulletproof brick of an engine...and I'm an idiot.

...and finally(if you choose to watch the following youtube videos) since I know that many of the forum members here are of a more distinguished age than me. I do, in fact, have the worst taste in music.

So without further adieu, I present Project apoKalypse:

I picked up the k1100rs in what seems to be pretty good mechanical condition, but it had been crashed/dropped on the right side and by the look of things a bit neglected. Sorry in advance to any purists who hate to see these modified, but this one is going to get pretty crazy. My plan is to make it into a wasteland scrambler/desert sled. I don't want the finished project to be cartoony or look like it was decorated to be post apocalyptic, I'm hoping that it ends up looking like a purpose built machine that would be a capable tool in a post apocalyptic wasteland. Since my forte is machining parts rather than metal fabrication, it will probably end up being more polished than mad max. I'm planning on documenting this project on youtube, here is the first/intro video:

• Oakland, CA