Author Topic: Olympia, WA to Motobrick.com HQ  (Read 24242 times)

Offline Laitch

• Faster than a speeding pullet
  • Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
Re: Olympia, WA to Motobrick.com HQ
« Reply #50 on: December 11, 2015, 11:54:27 AM »
Well done, Tim! Thanks.
  • Along the Ridley in Vermont.
  • 1995 K75 89,000 miles
I wept because I had no radials until I met a man who had no splines.
https://tinyurl.com/RillRider

Offline bugsinmyteeth

• Curious
« Reply #51 on: January 31, 2016, 01:55:30 PM »
Hi Tim, I'm new to motobrick and was looking though the site and saw photos of your trip...I have a bunch of questions about your bike and accessories. I have two K100RT's, one an 85 the other an 87. I would love to put aluminum tragkorbs and a luggage rack on my bike but I haven't found any one who makes them for this vintage bike...it looks as though you have them...older or custom or what? Thanks Mark
  • Greenfield MA
  • 85 K100RT

Offline TimTyler

• Adrninistrator
« Reply #52 on: January 31, 2016, 02:07:18 PM »
Hey, Mark.

You need the hard-to-find Hepco-Becker model # 650603 00 01. Or you could have a welder make a custom frame. I don't think there are other options.

The Hepco-Becker frames/racks are fairly well made but they have brazed joints (not welded) and the tubing is not as durable as today's frames from Touratech, etc. If I had to do it again I'd probably have a custom frame welded from stronger materials. Maybe start with a tragkorb frame that fits another bike and have it modified to fit your K? I've modified the HB rack with a heavy-duty 1/4" steel crossbeam in the back and I had triangle-shaped steel welded to reinforce the lower tube that connects to the footpeg brackets.

Here's how I started: http://www.motobrick.com/index.php?topic=3775.0

Offline johnny

• TrailBrakingThrottleWhacker
  • Whacking...n...Chopping Sliding...n...High Siding
« Reply #53 on: January 31, 2016, 04:21:30 PM »
ammo cans are less hipster and more interesting...