Author Topic: Wiring a switch to cooling fan?  (Read 14777 times)

Offline bizzaro

• ^ SuperNatural Motobricker
  • co pilot
Wiring a switch to cooling fan?
« on: June 29, 2015, 06:13:15 PM »
94 k1100lt........So My cooling fan runs great. Except it doesn't come on! :falldown:  I used jumpers to fire it up the other day and it ran fine.   I have checked the relay with a 9 volt battery and it "clicks".  I also switched the relays around to be sure that was working. So that narrows it down to faulty wiring,  or the  temp sensor.  I am thinking of just hot wiring the fan with a toggle for the Summer and switching it on when the temperature gauge goes above the halfway mark! :dunno I am not a mechanic, and don't know shit about electrical stuff.  Are there reasons that this would not be wise.  I don't want to burn anything else up or destroy anything.  I want to RIDE and will fix it "right" when Winter comes and the riding is over. 
  • Vermont
  • Current:1994 BMW K1100LT Previous: 1982 Yamaha virago 920,1973 Honda CB550,1976 Yamaha 650 Special
See Ya in the Twisties,
 Bizz

Offline johnny

• TrailBrakingThrottleWhacker
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Whacking...n...Chopping Sliding...n...High Siding
Re: Wiring a switch to cooling fan?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2015, 06:28:24 PM »
greetings bizzaro...

you letting the temp gauge needle getts into the red...

the bugeye motobrick fan would not kick in until the needle was way into the red...

the burd motobrick fan kicks on when it touches the red...

the brick of the corn fan kicks on a hair left of the red...

j o
  • :johnny i parks my 96 eleven hundert rs motobrick in dodge county cheezconsin  :johnny

Offline bizzaro

• co pilot
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2015, 08:04:08 PM »