Author Topic: 87 K75C - First bike, a few Q's (oh, hello btw!)  (Read 3612 times)

Offline Gubro30

• ^ Motobrick Curious
87 K75C - First bike, a few Q's (oh, hello btw!)
« on: June 12, 2012, 08:25:50 PM »
Hi there!

This is my first bike, as I've moved away from snowmobiling.

Bike has 50,000mi/80,000km, and is in great shape. It's going in at the shop for a full tune-up next week.

What should I ask to be done for that bike at that age/mileage? I don't want it brand new again but I want a reliable ride that will last some.

New tires, battery, spark plugs, replacing dried hoses and having every fluid changed are already asked. The front engine cover seems to leak so that means a new seal. At what mileage is the timing chain to be changed on those?

How much to have the splines on the output shaft and at the final drive greased?

How much am I looking at, besides the tires? I'd like your guestimates as I'm new to motorcycles and don't know yet the works and parts' pricing.

Thanks!!!

G :k75s
1986 K75C with K100Std fairing, Black. 50Kmiles

Offline frankenduck

• Adrninistrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
Re: 87 K75C - First bike, a few Q's (oh, hello btw!)
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2012, 08:34:35 PM »
Where are you located?
Once I had a Collie pup. Dug a hole and covered him up. Now I sit there by the hour. Waiting for a Collie-flower.
New to K bikes? Click here.
K Bike Maintenance & Mods: Click here.
Buy parts here.

Offline Chaos

• Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Mars needs women!
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2012, 09:08:32 PM »
Welcome!

If you take it to a dealer for all that work you may need a to take out a second mortgage.