Author Topic: K100LT - Running on two cylinders but everything seems to be working fine.  (Read 1318 times)

Offline tedmagnum

• Curious
I'm new to bricks. But I'm learning fast. But I need some guidance.

I've been handed a 1989 K100LT to try and sort out.  It's only running on cylinders 2 and 3.  With my temperature gun I can see that 1&4 don't warm up. But 2&3 do.

First thing I did is pull the plugs and check for sparks. They are all sparking.
I removed the injector rail and turned the engine. They are all squirting.
I swapped the coils around and the cylinder for 1-4 happily runs cylinder 2-3. So I think the coils are fine.
I have replaced the HT leads and plugs also.

If I unplug the coil for 1-4 when the bike is running, it makes no difference. But if I unplug the coil for 2-3, the bike completely dies.

So, I'm thinking the Hall effect sensors ??  From wiring diagrams, I see there are two. Are the two sensors one for each coil ??

Would the injectors fire if one was faulty ? I would assume the HES also fire the injectors.

In past experiences from faulty Hall effect, I would think I would get NO SPARK at all..

Can anyone point me in the right direction ? 
  • UK
  • 1989 K100LT

Offline The Mighty Gryphon

• Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
Re: K100LT - Running on two cylinders but everything seems to be working fine.
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2020, 08:48:47 AM »
The Hall Sensors are on the front of the engine under a T-shaped cover above the pumps.  It's not unusual for them to fail.  Their connector is under the tank on the right side.

As you mentioned, they control spark and the injectors.  There is a control module under the tank near the head that takes the signals and conditions them for the coils and the engine control unit.  They provide ignition timing information for the spark as well as rpm information for the Engine Control Unit.

Use the search function here to find threads about testing the Hall Effect Sensors.