Author Topic: lurching  (Read 2092 times)

Offline jmanfdog

• Curious
lurching
« on: January 10, 2019, 05:08:06 PM »
Hi

My bmw k75 1994 has a lurching problem. 88,000 miles, third owner. At first I thought the lurching was just cracks in the road. But I came to the realization that it kind of went faster for a mila second then returned to normal speed. I had the head gasket replaced because it was smoking after sitting and having a oil change and I thought that the problem might go away after that but it hasn't. Now it has more of a burnt crayon smell, little to no smoke tho, but the exhaust has a burnt crayon smell. I can live with the burnt crayon smell but the lurching seems like something to definitely check into.

I searched around on the form and can't find exactly the same problem, mostly because I can't think of what to call it besides lurching.

I'm not that technically inclined per say but I'm also not mechanically retarded ether. I'm thinking of doing a cross country trip this summer If I can get my bike in a better condition. Besides that the bike is really flawless ( left side indicators just stopped working but I'm sure that won't be too hard to figure out and the tac died a while ago but w.e)

thanks a lot for the time
  • Hawaii
  • Bmw k75 1994

Offline Chaos

• Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
  • Mars needs women!
Re: lurching
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2019, 05:27:46 PM »
"surging" might be the term you're searching for, thought that is usually associated with R11xx bikes than K bikes.  Things that come to mind, vacuum leaks on intake boots or cracked lines, water in gas (run a can of gas dryer) buildup of crud on in air metering flap is a possibility.  Add some Techtron for a couple tanks and run the wheels of it.
  • sw ohio
1987 K75S    VIN 0231
Original owner, Original litter
200,000 miles (plus or minus) and 5 paint jobs
sold 6/23
2023 Ural 2WD sidecar (BMW's bastard step child)

Offline Laitch