Author Topic: Pre-Build // First K Bike  (Read 2920 times)

Offline arthurtryst

• Motobrick Curious
Pre-Build // First K Bike
« on: May 02, 2018, 06:06:11 PM »
 Hey everyone, I plan on checking out a k100rs this weekend (ever since I saw the motors a long time ago I thought the K bikes were the coolest things ever and have been lurking this forum among others) and had a question regarding the driveshaft. I asked the seller some questions and the response chain is below.
What I wanted to ask all of you in your infinite knowledge was what does it mean to replace the driveshaft? (I have zero motorcycle knowledge and everything I have been learning I would reference to the K’s) I plan to ask why the driveshaft change but also want to know why do something like that and if there is anything I should look out for that I might have missed that I’ll want to ask the seller.

SELLER: “I am not the original owner, I have no maintenance records. Although I purchased the bike in September and completely went through the bike replaced the driveshaft and the seat cover, the oil was changed And filter with synthetic oil also the air filter. Everything works perfectly. Also includes 2 new tires.”
NEWB/ME:I wanted to see if you did the work yourself or if you took it to a dealer?
Do you know the condition of the splines on the bike?
SELLER:“ The splines are in great shape also I installed a new driveshaft with the correct lubricant on the splines.”
NEWB/ME:I plan on checking out the bike thoroughly based off of things I’ve read lurking the forums: Look inside the gas tank, check for leaks throughout, signs of being dropped, checking out the splines, anything else you guys recommend I look at, etc.

I hope to do a build out of this bike AFTER I’ve ridden it for a few month to get some understanding on it as it will *hopefully* be my first K bike.

• San Diego
  • 1987 K75C

Offline Laitch

• Faster than a speeding pullet
  • Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker