Author Topic: Thinking of buying a K75s for a project, have questions.  (Read 17619 times)

Offline Bee Em Dubbs

• Motobrick Curious
Thinking of buying a K75s for a project, have questions.
« on: December 05, 2017, 03:14:42 PM »
First off, I have no experience whatsoever with working on bikes so what I want to do is very limited. I'm wanting to convert a k75 into a somewhat cafe racer esque bike. I do not need to do a bunch of mods, just basic for now. Would like to remove all the fairing, install a new seat, and new headlight. How difficult is all of this? I have no idea how the seat part will work and if I need a seat pan built. Also not sure how the tail light would be installed.
As for the headlight, I also have no idea how difficult it would be. I'd be fine with the original headlight for now but it seems like that's not possible if I remove the front fairing?

I see a 1994 k75s ABS with 65k miles on Craigslist for $2600. I'm wondering what a good deal would be. It looks to be in great shape, had been regularly dealer serviced, and is registered in "non-op" at the DMV because the collector has multiple bikes and doesn't ride this one often. The seller will also include a set of factory luggage.
  • San Diego
  • None yet

Offline Bee Em Dubbs

• Motobrick Curious
Re: Thinking of buying a K75s for a project, have questions.
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2017, 03:24:23 PM »
Here's the bike:

Here's the inspiration:
This is actually a k100. I would want a little longer seat for a passenger and handle bars not so low.

This one is similar.

• San Diego
  • None yet

Offline Martin

• ^ Quintessential Motobricker
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2017, 03:48:35 PM »