Author Topic: First Post! A couple of basic tech questions  (Read 4717 times)

Offline jsngrimm

• Motobrick Curious
First Post! A couple of basic tech questions
« on: October 08, 2017, 04:02:03 AM »
I recently picked up my first flying brick! a 1987 K100RS in need of work and fairings are off, but running and driving pretty good  :bmwsmile I have plenty of experience wrenching on a few bikes I have but this is the first BMW and first euro bike in general. Going pretty well so far but I had a few questions I couldn't seem to find solid answers to:

1) I am probably going to just completely remove the side stand, the bit that you catch with your foot to put it down has broken off, and the insane lean angle on it worries me a bit (has a Works Racer aftermarket shock that is probably longer than the original), how do I got about removing the clutch lever auto retraction cable/mechanism?

2) The coolant level sight tube on the expansion tank is very dirty and needs replaced, do I have to drain the cooling system to replace it, or can I just siphon out the expansion tank and re fill it? And does the tubing have to be a specific kind like the actual BMW part, or can any clear tubing be used?

3) I want to get a clutch spline lube done, and while it is something I could tackle myself I am thinking about just letting the professionals take care of this one, a local shop that has experience with K bikes quoted me $1000 + parts for a clutch spline lube?  :mbird I know it is quite involved because a lot of the bike has to come apart, but that seems crazy high to me, is that a reasonable number if I were to have a shop do this for me?

Thanks for any help, I'm really liking the K100 so far and it should be an interesting project!
  • Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
  • 1987 K100RS, 1982 Yamaha XJ650 Maxim, 1972 Suzuki TC-90J

Offline Scott_

• Administrator
  • ^ Quintessential Motobricker
Re: First Post! A couple of basic tech questions
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2017, 07:59:52 AM »