Author Topic: Hello! New K Owner Based in Sweden  (Read 2776 times)

Offline Hoffrock

• Motobrick Curious
Hello! New K Owner Based in Sweden
« on: July 16, 2017, 03:59:17 PM »
Hey everyone!   :euro

I'm a new K owner based in Gothenburg - Sweden. I picked up a K a month or so back with the intention of starting a custom project. I am a designer by trade and wanted somewhere to put the excess creativity.

I bought a relatively clean 1984 K100 that I found on the Swedish website Blocket. (Kind of like Craigslist or gumtree I guess)

It was a good price and seemed to be relatively well looked after. (I knew I was going to take the whole thing apart anyway so it didn't need to be imaculate. Just a good runner. The previous owner had the bike as a daly rider so that was good enough for me.)

Here are a couple of photos from the day I picked it up:

I have a Garage that is shared between me and some friends. We have a good amount of tools. Welder, English wheel, etc.

Here is the bike outside the garage the day it was picked up:

I have already cut into the bike massively and will start a build thread soon as I have taken photos as I went along.

I have been using this project as a way to learn more about metalworking and mechanics. I already have an OK understanding mechanically speaking (definitely no pro but enough)  I have wanted to make a cafe racer for years and decided to take the plunge and just do it.

Here is a quick photoshop rendering or what I'm aiming for. It may not be exactly like this in the end but its at least a target to aim for.

Anyway. Great to be part of the forum. I have already read up on a lot of posts from here. No doubt the collective knowledge saved here will be invaluable along the way.
I hope that you will find the build interesting too.

:riding:
  • Göteborg Sweden
  • 1984 K100

Offline Hoffrock

• Motobrick Curious
Re: Hello! New K Owner Based in Sweden
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 04:05:17 PM »